Edition Peters


Crumb: Metamorphoses Book II

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: George Crumb
  • Instrumentation: Amplified Piano
  • Work: Metamorphoses (Book II)
  • Binding: Spiral Bound
  • ISMN: 9790300762036
  • Size: 16.9 x 11.0 inches
  • Pages: 32


Like Book I of George Crumb's final large-scale keyboard cycle, Metamorphoses, Book II: Ten Fantasy-Pieces (After Celebrated Paintings) comprises ten movements for solo piano, each inspired by one of the composer's favorite works of visual art. His efforts to render these paintings in sound lead Crumb to reach beyond the conventional resources of the instrument once more: the insides of the piano are amplified, plucked, struck, and "prepared" with foreign objects, and the pianist doubles on a handful of percussion instruments, speaks, whispers, and blows audibly as part of the 38-minute performance.