Goodmusic Publishing


Cooman: 4 Pieces for Organ

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Carson Cooman
  • Instrumentation: Organ
  • ISMN: 9790222311244
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches



Plaint (2013) was written for Murray Forbes Somerville in memory of his mother Brenda (1912-2013). It is a quiet, lyric meditation.

Tuba Tune (2017) is dedicated to Ian Tracey. The work is a festive tuba tune in the spirit of the famous offering of the same name by C. S. Lang.

Refrains (2016) is dedicated to Peter Clark. The piece is built from a series of related musical materials that are presented in blocks. The overall mood is spacious and ceremonial, with the atmosphere of a forgotten rite.

Toccata-Rondo (2014) was written for Brazilian organist Cristiano Rizzotto who premiered it on his summer 2014 South American recital tour. The work is a toccata in a traditional French romantic style, but with a contemporary American harmonic vocabulary. Two intervening rondo episodes alternate with the main toccata texture.

Total duration about 17 minutes


  • Plaint
  • Tube Tune
  • Refrains
  • Toccata-Rondo