• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    Cam. Schumann: Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-flat Major, Op. 134

    Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: Camillo Schumann
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Clarinet
    • Work: Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-flat Major, Op. 134
    • ISMN: 9790004186770
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 52
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    There are many composers of whom it is said today that they had gone back in time or had composed against contemporary taste. Today, the question arises, though, as to what of value is to be extracted, rediscovered, or re-edited. Camillo Schumann (1872–1946) is one of these nearly forgotten composers. His works are still largely unknown today. Schumann's tonal language combines the Brahmsian sound scape with the grand late romantic Liszt school. His piano pieces range even to sounds reminiscent of Rachmaninoff and are of tremendous power and virtuosity. The pronounced and inventive melody makes the works the testimony of a composer who has not yet come to the fore. His two sonatas for clarinet and piano have hitherto remained completely unknown. This is astonishing, for they are on the level of the sonatas of Johannes Brahms, who probably contributed the most essentially to this genre. Surfacing as a special treasure from the estate of the Saxon musicologist and collector Harald Schurz were the autographs of both clarinet sonatas, now to be published for the first time. "Remember falling in love with the expressive qualities of the Brahms sonatas? You can rekindle that feeling with these works by Camillo Schumann. Commentators have compared Schumann's works not only to Brahms, but also to Liszt and Rachmaninoff. Run to your shop and order now. ˮ (Gregory Barrett, The Clarinet)