Bruch: Rorate coeli, Op. 29

O Heiland, reiß die Himmel auf

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Max Bruch
  • Format: Vocal Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
  • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
  • Work Language: German
  • ISMN: 979-000716653-3
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 24
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Max Bruch succeeded in composing an impressive setting of the well known Advent text, "O Heiland, reiß die Himmel auf" (O Saviour, tear open the heavens). Compositionally it is extremely sophisticated in its construction; Bruch combines both the choir and orchestra in a powerfully expressive and moving portrayal of mankind waiting for the coming of the Saviour. Following the premiere of the work in 1869 it was celebrated as Bruch's most important choral work, but later it fell largely into oblivion. Almost 150 years after it was composed, for the first time a critical-scholarly edition is now available to the public.