Brahms: Piano Trio in C Minor, Op. 101

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editor: Christopher Hogwood
    • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
    • ISMN: 979-000654111-9
    • Size: 10.0 x 12.8 inches
    • Pages: 65
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    Brahms' final and perhaps greatest trio is based on two main sources, the first edition and the autograph.

    The foreword of this edition presents information on contemporary performance practice; Hogwood has drawn on the comments of Fanny Davis, a Brahms student, to shed light on this. She describes how Brahms played the trio with Joseph Joachim and Robert Hausmann at an informal reading (with Clara Schumann turning pages) in Baden-Baden in approx. 1895. Davis descriptions have much to do with articulation, dynamics and tempo fluctuations; in short exactly those aspects of performance practice where we lack real direction.