Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A Minor, Op. 114

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Clarinet Trio (Clarinet, Cello, Piano)
  • ISMN: 9790006541126
  • Size: 10.0 x 12.8 inches
  • Pages: 68
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Brahms' Clarinet Trio, composed in 1891, was inspired by the exceptional musicality of clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld. As he did for his horn trio, Brahms prepared a viola part as a possible alternative to the clarinet. Both scorings were rehearsed (the viola part being played by Joseph Joachim) prior to the premiere and publication of the work.