G. Henle Verlag


Brahms: Clarinet Sonatas, Op. 120

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editors: Egon Voss, Johannes Behr
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Clarinet
    • ISMN: 979-020180987-8
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 79
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    In 1894 Johannes Brahms asked the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld to visit him during his beloved summer sojourn in Ischl, adding "It would be really wonderful if you brought your B-flat clarinet with you, and if you were in no great hurry" – for the two Sonatas op. 120 were waiting to be rehearsed. The first performances were given privately directly afterwards and the press enthusiastically reported: "The sonatas [...] are wonderful and will cause a great sensation".

    _This edition replaces the older HN274_.