Brahms: Cello Sonata in E Minor, Op. 38

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editors: Johannes Behr, Egon Voss
  • Fingering: Claus Kanngiesser
  • Instrumentation: Cello, Piano
  • ISMN: 9790201811345
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 51
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The E Minor Cello Sonata is the first work for one solo instrument and piano which the meticulous composer also had printed. in the summer of 1865, Brahms offered it to the publisher Simrock as a sonata "whose two instruments are both absolutely easy to play" – and rightly so: contrary to the later F-major Sonata op. 99, this early sonata is technically less demanding, yet musically more striking at the same time, so that it is a hit with amateurs and professionals alike.

This edition comes with both marked and unmarked string parts.

This edition replaces the older HN18.