Breitkopf & Härtel


Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60

Format Descriptions
Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Editor: Peter Hauschild
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • ISMN: 979-000421015-4
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 100
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The Urtext edition of Ludwig van Beethovens Fourth Symphony presented here is based on the surviving primary sources: the autograph score, a copy of the score examined by Beethoven, two copies of the part material which he personally used, and the first edition of the parts and score. The score contains the complete Critical Report. Observations deemed particularly important, as well as divergences from established editions, are clearly marked within it.

"Words are not enough to praise this exemplary edition, resulting from many years of systematic editorial work on the sources. Breitkopf's source-critical, practice-oriented edition by Clive Brown and Peter Hauschild will provide valuable new impulses in the interpretation of Beethoven's music."(Kurt Masur)