Wiener Urtext


Beethoven: Piano Pieces

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Editor: Jochen Reutter
  • Fingering: Sheila Arnold
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 979-050057409-5
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Ludwig van Beethoven has left a considerable number of individual pieces for piano in addition to sonatas and works of variations. They range from larger works such as "The Rage over the Lost Penny" or the Fantasia, Op. 77 to the ingenious miniatures of the Bagatelles. in terms of their origin and history, they run through the entire œuvre of the composer from his time in Bonn to the last years of his life.

This edition completes the previous selection with important works, e.g. the Rondos (WoO 48 and 49) from 1784, which are also of pedagogical interest, or pieces that have so far hardly been noticed, such as the (musically) extremely attractive Allegretto in C Minor WoO 214. All the works have been re-examined from the sources and offer a significantly improved "Urtext". Even Beethoven's most famous piano piece "Für Elise" has undergone Minor retouching of the musical text and has been cleared of unjustified changes of the 20th century.

This edition includes also the "Ländler-like Dance" which was discovered in 2020.