• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Beethoven: Music to Goethe's Tragedy "Egmont"

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
    • Format: Piano Reduction
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Voice
    • Originally for: Orchestra
    • Work: Egmont (Incidental Music), Op. 84
    • Work Language: German
    • ISMN: 9790201806464
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 43
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    From the outset, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe intended music to play a role in his tragedy "Egmont", which takes place during the uprising of the Dutch against Spanish dominion in the 16th century. Ludwig van Beethoven wrote the incidental music for a performance of the tragedy in Vienna's Burgtheater in the spring of 1810. Unfortunately, mostly only the overture is performed in the concert hall. This paperback piano reduction in a reliable Henle Urtext edition now provides the complete incidental music with the song texts. This is an ideal way of getting to know the overture, Klärchen's songs, the entr'acte music and the concluding triumphal symphony. We can here admire the interaction of two geniuses.