G. Schirmer


Barber: Violin Concerto, Op. 14

Corrected Revised Version

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Samuel Barber
  • Editor: David Flachs
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • Work: Violin Concerto, Op. 14
  • ISBN: 9780793554584
  • Size: 9 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 52


Barber provided these program notes for the premiere performance:

"The first movement—allegro molto moderato—begins with a lyrical first subject announced at once by the solo violin, without any orchestral introduction. This movement as a whole has perhaps more the character of a sonata than concerto form. The second movement—andante sostenuto—is introduced by an extended oboe solo. The violin enters with a contrasting and rhapsodic theme, after which it repeats the oboe melody of the beginning. The last movement, a perpetuum mobile , exploits the more brilliant and virtuosic character of the violin."