Breitkopf & Härtel


Baermann: Introduction and Polonaise in F Major, Op. 25

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Heinrich Baermann
  • Editor: John Paul Newhill
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Clarinet
  • Work: Introduction and Polonaise in F Major, Op. 25
  • ISMN: 9790004486221
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 16


The present Introduction and Polonaise, Op. 25 by Heinrich Joseph Baermann (1784-1847) was published by Breitkopf & Härtel in 1822. It appears to have been extraordinarily popular, as is confirmed by three further contemporary prints aside from the Breitkopf edition. Formally interesting is Baermann's insertion of a short Adagio as a kind of rest after the Introduction(in a rapid tempo) and before the start of the main section, the Polonaise ("Polacca"). This edition offers a revised musical text which corrects inconsistencies in the sources and also subjects the piano part to a critical examination.