Bach: Ich freue mich in dir, BWV 133

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
    • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
    • Work Languages: English, German
    • ISMN: 979-000705970-5
    • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
    • Pages: 24
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    The cantata "Ich freue mich in dir" was first performed during Bach's second year as Thomaskantor, on the 3rd day of Christmas, and belongs to the so-called annual cycle of chorale cantatas. Here the focus of the composition is the hymn of the same name by Philipp Ziegler, in which the first and final strophes were adopted, word for word, in the first and sixth movements of the cantata. The soprano, which carries the chorale, is supported by the conrnett (Zink), which already at this time had become a seldom-used instrument. The joyful, lively choral movement with instrumental interludes directly follows the first aria, and begins with a marked, ascending motive at the word "Getrost!" (safely). The oboes d'amore which accompany the alto lend the movement a special color. in the second aria (for soprano), Bach again shows himself to be the master of text interpretation. The words "Wie lieblich klingt es in den Ohren" are emphasized in an exchange between open strings and sixteenth note figures.