G. Henle Verlag


Bach: English Suites 4-6, BWV 809-811

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    • Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
    • Editor: Rudolf Steglich
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-020180103-2
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 65
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    Although people might like to think that the "English Suites" were composed after the "French Suites", "the temperamental and in part virtuoso flow of these Suites is more characteristic of the musical language of the young Bach" (from our preface). The kaleidoscopic variety of the six "English" Suites is breathtaking. One lifetime is not enough to exhaustively comprehend and penetrate them.