G. Henle Verlag


Albéniz: Three Improvisations, 1903

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Isaac Albéniz
  • Editor: Milton Rubén Laufer
  • Fingering: Milton Rubén Laufer
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: 3 Improvisations
  • ISMN: 9790201809533
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 9
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The only surviving original recording of Albéniz' piano playing is from 1903. On a visit to Ruperto Regordosa Planas he had sat down at the former's piano and improvised three short pieces. Planas recorded the music on a phonograph cylinder. The pieces were, however, never written down on paper. with the help of modern technical resources, Milton Laufer, an expert on Albéniz, has been able to carefully reconstruct the musical text. Henle's first printing of the transcription thus enables us to have a unique "peep through the keyhole" into the workshop of the gifted pianist and composer.

As a little extra, Henle has included this fascinating recording on a CD with the first issue of this printing.