Bach: Suites, Partitas, Sonatas (transc. for harpsichord)

Bärenreiter - BA11820

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    2. Transcriber: Gustav Leonhardt
    3. Editor: Siebe Henstra
    4. Instrumentation: Harpsichord
    5. ISMN: 979-000656260-2
    6. Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    7. Pages: 135

    "I think Bach would have forgiven me for embarking on these transcriptions. Whether he would have forgiven the way I did it is, of course, another matter." (Gustav Leonhardt)

    The harpsichordist, conductor and organist Gustav Leonhardt was considered a pioneer of historical performance practice. Between 1968 and 1978 he made harpsichord transcriptions of several of Bach's compositions for unaccompanied violin or cello. Now these transcriptions are being made available to us by his pupil, the famed harpsichordist Siebe Henstra, based on the handwritten notes that Leonhardt used for his own performances.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Sonata in D Minor (after Sonata for Violin in G Minor)
    2. Partita in E Minor (after Partita for Violin in B Minor)
    3. Partita in G Minor (after Partita for Violin in D Minor)
    4. Sonata in G Major (after Sonata for Violin in C Major)
    5. Partita in A Major (after Partita for Violin in E Major)
    6. Suite in E-flat Major (after Suite for Cello in E-flat Major)
    7. Suite in C Minor (after Suite for Cello in C Minor)
    8. Suite in D Major (after Suite for Cello in D Major)
    9. Allemande in A Minor (after Allemande from Partita for Flute in A Minor)
    10. Sarabande in C Minor (after Sarabande from Suite for Lute in C Minor)

Type: Sheet Music