• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Peermusic Classical


    Ives: String Quartet No. 2

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Charles Ives
    • Format: Score & Set of Parts
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: String Quartet No. 2
    • UPC: 888680631758
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Ives wrote that in the course of the work, the performers "converse, discuss, argue (in RE 'politick'), fight, shake hands shut up -then walk up the mountain side to view the firmament!" Ives's comments in the score highlight the conversational nature of the 1st and 2nd movements. He recalls friends from his post-collegiate days and pokes fun at the academic, conservative musicians of his day - all depicted in the music. The arguments in Mvt. 2 can get heated, but the quartet put it all aside in the transcendent finale.