Wiener Urtext


Bach: Toccatas, BWV 910-916

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    2. Instrumentation: Piano
    3. ISMN: 979-050057080-6
    4. Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    5. Pages: 146
    6. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Bach's seven Toccatas count among his most important youth works in which a "youthfully stormy, spontaneous" creativity unfolds. Christian Eisert only recently illuminated the confused nature of their transmission - not one autograph for any of the Toccatas has survived - for the first time. His research findings have also become the basis of the present new edition. The oldest sources and those closest to Bach's circle form the basis of this edition's musical text that also includes further earlier versions of BWV 912 and 913. in addition a richly ornamented version of the Toccata BWV 916 is also reproduced enabling insights into performance practice in Bach's day and presenting a welcome enrichment for study and concert purposes.