Goehr: Schlussgesang, Op. 61

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Alexander Goehr
    2. Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    3. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Viola
    4. Originally for: Viola, Orchestra
    5. ISMN: 979-022011885-2
    6. Size: 8.3 x 11.7 inches
    7. Pages: 124

    A suite of six pieces, rather than a concerto, Schlussgesang ("Endsong" in English) was sketched in a few weeks in Jerusalem in 1993, interrupted for the composition of Arianna and then taken up again and completed in 1996.

    Schlussgesang is written for a medium-sized orchestra accompanying the soloist. It was commissioned by the BBC. First performance by Tabea Zimmermann and the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Oliver Knussen at the 1997 Aldeburgh Festival.