G. Henle Verlag


Brahms: Hungarian Dances, Nos. 1-10

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Johannes Brahms
    2. Editor: Camilla Cai
    3. Fingering: Rolf Koenen
    4. Instrumentation: Piano
    5. ISMN: 979-020180560-3
    6. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    7. Pages: 43
    8. Urtext / Critical Edition

    "No opus number" is what Brahms gave his astonished publisher to understand, when he offered him the Hungarian Dances for publication in 1869. He placed a great deal of importance on the fact that he had merely "set" popular Hungarian melodies and not composed new works as such. As true as this reservation is, it did not affect the success of these works. The Hungarian Dances are today without a doubt amongst Brahms' best-known compositions. Brahms himself made an arrangement of the dances 1–10, originally for piano four hands, for solo piaNo.

    _This edition replaces the olrder HN55._