• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Carl Fischer


    Tournier: Intermediate Pieces for Solo Harp - Volume I


    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Marcel Tournier
    • Editors: Carl Swanson, Catherine Michel
    • Instrumentation: Harp
    • Work: Nos. 1-7 & 9 from Déchiffrages (1900)
    • ISBN: 9781491164372
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches


    Marcel Tournier (1879–1951) was one of the most important harpist/composers in the history of the harp.Over his long career, he added a significant catalogue of very beautiful works to the harp repertoire. Many of his solo works, almost 100, have been consistently in print since they were first published. But in recent years harpist Carl Swanson has discovered a treasure trove of pieces by Tournier heretofore unknown and unpublished. These include the Déchiffrages in this edition, as well as songs set for voice, harp, and string quartet, and ensemble arrangements of some of his most beloved works.

    All of the works that Carl Swanson found were in manuscript only. with the help of the great harpist Catherine Michel, he has put these pieces into playable form. He and Catherine often had to re-notate passages to show clearly how they could be played, adding fingerings and musical nuances, tempos, pedals, and pedal diagrams.

    Tournier wrote these pieces when he was in his 20s, and before he became the impressionistic composer those familiar with his work know so well. They are written in the late nineteenth-century romantic style that was being taught at that time at the Paris Conservatory. They are short, intermediate level pieces by a first rate composer, and add much needed repertoire to that level of playing.