• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Haydn: String Quartets - Volume 9 (Opp. 71 and 74 - Appony Quartets)

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Joseph Haydn
    • Editors: Georg Feder, Isidor Saslav
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • ISMN: 9790201802138
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 140
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Haydn dedicated the series of Quartets Opp. 71 and 74 to the Hungarian Count Apponyi, a Viennese patron of music and a freemason friend. Haydn composed them when he was enjoying a great deal of success with his "London Symphonies" in England. with their weighty slow introductions and dense movements focusing on sound, they also have symphonic characteristics. in particular, the Quartet in G Minor, Op. 74, No. 3 is striking on account of its expressiveness and originality. Due to the rhythmic drive of the outer movements it was give the epithet "Rider Quartet".