Wiener Urtext


Bach: Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    2. Editor: Ulrich Leisinger
    3. Instrumentation: Cello
    4. ISMN: 979-050057289-3
    5. Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
    6. Pages: 8
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    This contains the musical text of the well-regarded Wiener Urtext edition with all six cello suites of Bach by Ulrich Leisinger. Thanks to new findings on the transmission, Leisinger managed to re-evaluate the sources which did not leave the structure of the musical text and the associated delicate problem of the slurs untouched. His re-evaluation gave reasons for a stronger emancipation from the manuscript copy of Anna Magdalena Bach which had always been cited as main source until then though it was very unreliable with regard to the articulation; thus the new edition leads to more convincing solutions. The present separate edition is the perfect starting point to study Bach's suites for cello solo in class and provides amateurs with a technically 'accessible' masterpiece in cello literature.