Shostakovich: Five Pieces for Two Violins and Piano

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
  • Arranger: Levon Atovmian
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Violin I, Violin II
  • Originally for: Piano, Violin I, Violin II, Orchestra
  • ISMN: 979-000303014-2
  • Size: 8.3 x 11.7 inches
  • Pages: 40


Delightful is the best way to describe Dmitri Shostakovich's Five Pieces for Two Violins and Piano (arranged by Lev Atovmian from other works with the composer's sanction). Rather than Shostakovich's usual brooding darkness and sardonic wit, these pieces, though never insipid, are filled with warm lyricism and Slavic charm.


  • Prelude from The Gadfly
  • Gavotte (from the 3rd Ballet Suite)
  • Elegy (from the 3rd Ballet Suite)
  • Waltz (presumed to be from The Tale of the Priest and His Servant Balada, Op. 36)
  • Polka (from the 1st Ballet Suite)