Recital Music


Monti: Csárdás (Czardas)

This item will ship in about a month.
    1. Composer: Vittorio Monti
    2. Arranger: David Heyes
    3. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Double Bass
    4. Originally for: Violin, Piano
    5. ISMN: 979-057045546-1

    Czardas for violin and piano is Monti's only famous work, believed to have been composed in the early years of the 20th-century, and has been composed for almost every instrument, every instrumental combination, and performed by every gypsy orchestra or ensemble.

    The slow rhapsodic introduction quickly leads into the main theme which is full of rhythmic fire and gypsy passion. A slow section, primarily in double stops, is then repeated in high harmonics before a brief return of the fast virtuosic music which leads into a reprise of the Czardas material, but now in the toniin C Major. A fast and energetic finale brings the piece to a rousing and successful conclusion.

    This exciting new arrangement by David Heyes offers musical and technical challenges in equal measure and the edition includes accompaniments for both solo and orchestral tunings. An arrangement for double bass quartet is in preparation.