Martinů: Puppets (Loutky)

Bärenreiter - H7970

Format Descriptions
Format Descriptions

Publishers use a lot of words to describe what they sell, and we know it can be confusing. We've tried to be as clear as possible to make sure you get exactly what you are looking for. Below are descriptions of the terms that we use to describe the various formats that music often comes in.

Choral Score
A score for vocalists that only contains the vocal lines. The instrumental parts are not there for reference. Generally, cheaper than a vocal score and requires multiple copies for purchase.

Facsimile of the Autograph
These are hardcover, research-quality reproductions of the original hand-written scores from the composer.

Some publishers print a hardbound, linen-covered version in addition to the standard paperback. The music inside is identical. These editions are beautiful though rarely cheap.

Orchestral Parts
Similar to a wind set, this is a collection of parts. In the case of strings, the numbers listed are the strength of the section, so would mean 16 first violins and 8 copies.

When publishers offer multiple bindings (e.g. hardcover) or study scores, this is the "standard" version. If you're planning to play the music, this is probably what you want.

Performance / Playing Score
For chamber pieces, playing scores have all of the parts on one system. There are not separate parts for each player.

Score (Full Score)
For ensemble music, this indicates that the edition contains all parts on a single system (there are not separate parts for each player). In larger ensembles, this is for the conductor.

Set of Parts
For ensemble music, this indicates that there are separate parts for each player.

Solo Part with Piano Reduction
For solo pieces with orchestra, this is a version that contains a piano reduction of the orchestra parts. For piano pieces, two copies are typically needed for performance.

Study Score
A small (think choral size) copy of the complete score meant for studying, and not playing. They make great add-ons when learning concertos and small chamber works.

Vocal Score
A score prepared for vocalists that includes the piano/organ part or a reduction of the instrumental parts.

Wind Set
For orchestral music, this is a collection of wind and percussion parts. The specific quantities of each instrument are notated.

With Audio
In addition to the printed music, the edition contains recordings of the pieces. This may be an included CD, or access to files on the internet.

With / Without Fingering (Markings)
Some publishers prepare two copies - a pure Urtext edition that includes no fingering (or bowing) suggestions and a lightly edited version that includes a minimal number of editorial markings.


In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
    2. Editors: Aleš Březina, Giorgio Koukl
    3. Instrumentation: Piano
    4. ISMN: 979-026010420-4
    5. Size: 9.2 x 12.2 inches
    6. Pages: 79

    Despite the extraordinary significance attributed to Bohuslav Martinů's 14 short piano pieces entitled Puppets, surprisingly little is known about the exact time and circumstances of their composition. It is however certain that these are the first works by Martinů which transcended his initial attempts at composition and they quickly found a publisher. Thanks to their lasting popularity particularly with young pianists, they were published in numerous editions. The pieces take the characters of Italian commedia dell'arte as their theme; Pierrot, Colombine and Harlequin. Also included are dance and ball scenes, as well as scenes from the "private lives" of the puppets. The three editions of Puppets were composed between 1912 and 1925 in reverse order (Puppets III came before Puppets I). The works all differ from one another, beginning with different aesthetic starting points and ending with piano writing which gradually matures. Now the cycle is published for the first time in one volume.

    Book 1 contains: Columbine Dances, The New Puppet, The Shy Puppet, Fairy Tale and The Puppets' Dance
    Book 2 contains: Puppet Theatre, Harlequin, Colombine Remembers, The Sick Puppet and Colombine Sings
    Book 3 contains: Pierrot's Serenade, Waltz of the Sentimental Puppet, Colombine, and Puppet's Ball

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Columbine Dances (Colombìna tancí)
    2. The New Puppet ( Nová loutka)
    3. The Shy Puppet (Ostychavá panenka)
    4. Fairy-Tale (Pohádka)
    5. The Puppets' Dance (Tanec loutek)
    6. Puppet Theatre (Loutkové divadlo)
    7. Harlequin (Harlekyn)
    8. Colombine Reminisces (Colombina vzpomíná)
    9. The Sick Puppet (Nemocná loutka)
    10. Colombine sings, Colombina zpívá
    11. Pierrot's Serenade, Pierrotovo zastaveic
    12. Waltz of the Sentimental Puppet (Valcík sentimentální loutky)
    13. Colombine (Colombina)
    14. Puppet's Ball (Ples loutek)

Type: Sheet Music