G. Henle Verlag


Liszt: 2 Concert Etudes

Expected to ship in about a week.
    1. Composer: Franz Liszt
    2. Fingering: Franz Liszt
    3. Editor: Mária Eckhardt
    4. Instrumentation: Piano
    5. ISMN: 979-020180479-8
    6. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    7. Pages: 25
    8. Urtext / Critical Edition

    The pianistically demanding studies "Waldesrauschen" and "Gnomenreigen" were written during the composer's mature late phase, in which one does not necessarily expect such virtuosic pieces. Liszt composed them in 1862 in Rome for the Große theoretisch-praktische Klavierschule by Siegmund Lebert and Ludwig Stark. in so doing he honoured a pledge he had made some time before. Liszt was now teaching a large group of students. The two studies, published in 1863 and independent of the Klavierschule, were dedicated to his extremely gifted pupil Dionys Pruckner. He and other Liszt pupils often played them in concerts.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Forest Murmurs ("Waldesrauschen")
    2. Gnomenreigen (Dance of the Gnomes)