G. Henle Verlag


Grieg: Violin Sonata in C Minor, Op. 45

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Edvard Grieg
  • Editor: Egon Voss
  • Fingering: Ernst Schliephake
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • Work: Violin Sonata No. 3, Op. 45
  • ISMN: 9790201807003
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 92
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Grieg's Third Violin Sonata is one of his major creations and stands alongside the sonatas of Johannes Brahms and César Franck at the pinnacle of late nineteenth century chamber music. One small measure of the work's renown is its occurrence in Thomas Mann's novel "Doktor Faustus". The sonata has been growing more popular ever since its first publication. A preface and detailed editorial notes provide interesting background material on the work's source tradition.

Contains both marked and unmarked string parts.