Grieg: Peer Gynt Suites (piano version)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Edvard Grieg
  • Editors: Einar Steen-Nøkleberg, Ernst-Günter Heinemann
  • Fingering: Einar Steen-Nøkleberg
  • Arranger: Edvard Grieg
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • ISMN: 9790201812397
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 42
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Grieg's incidental music for Henrik Ibsen's drama "Peer Gynt" contains some of his best-known compositions, such as "Morning mood" and "In the hall of the Mountain King". Grieg later extracted the most beautiful pieces to form two orchestral suites and arranged himself these versions for piano solo and piano four-hands. There was a surprise in store for Henle when preparing their Urtext edition. in the autograph and the first print run, the second suite contained another movement, the "Dance of the Mountain King's Daughter", which Grieg deleted shortly afterwards. This charming dance appears in the appendix to this edition - printed again for the first time in 120 years!