G. Henle Verlag


Bach: Partitas 4-6, BWV 828-830

Format Descriptions
This item is no longer in print. We may be able to secure a one-off copy for you. Please email us with the form or email and we will let you know.
    1. Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    2. Editor: Rudolf Steglich
    3. Instrumentation: Piano
    4. ISMN: 979-020180031-8
    5. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    6. Pages: 70
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Each one of Bach's six Partitas features seven great single movements, predominantly in the sequence: Präludium – Allemande – Courante – Sarabande – [two free dances] – Gigue. These partitas can justifiably be described as Bach's "ultimate" cycle of suites. As regards the artistic and manual demands, it goes far beyond its "English" and "French" siblings that are also frequently played. It is no coincidence that Bach only had these six partitas printed (1731), and what is more as "Op. 1".