G. Henle Verlag


Brahms: Sonatas, Op. 120 (Version for Viola)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Arranger: Johannes Brahms
  • Editors: Johannes Behr, Egon Voss
  • Fingering: Tabea Zimmermann
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Viola
  • ISMN: 9790201809885
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 95
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


We owe a debt of gratitude to the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld for making the elderly Brahms so interested in his instrument. in the 1890s the composer wrote the Trio, Op. 114, the Quintet, Op. 115 and the Sonatas, Op. 120 – three gems in the clarinet chamber music repertoire. Brahms also provided a part for viola as an alternative to the clarinet.

Includes marked and unmarked string parts.

This edition replaces the older HN231.