Wiener Urtext


Schubert: 3 Scherzi, D. 593 & D. 570

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Franz Schubert
    2. Instrumentation: Piano
    3. ISMN: 979-050057356-2
    4. Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    5. Pages: 16
    6. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Franz Schubert's scherzos were right at the beginning of a development that, in the course of the 19th century, resulted in the separation of the scherzo from the sonata and its emancipation as an independent piano piece. These traces become apparent in the three pieces compiled in this volume: the two popular Scherzos in B flat major and D flat major (D 593) and the Scherzo in D major (D 570) which has survived, together with an allegro fragment, in the composer's autograph. With its pleasantly flowing melody, its typically Schubertian harmony and the modest technical demands, this piece might soon outrank its well-known sister work in B flat major.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Scherzo in B-flat Major, D 593, No. 1
    2. Scherzo in D-flat Major, D 593
    3. Scherzo in D Major, D 570