Theodore Presser


Garrop: Quicksilver

This item is printed when ordered and typically ships within 1-2 weeks.
  • Composer: Stacy Garrop
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Alto Saxophone
  • Originally for: Alto Saxophone, Wind Ensemble
  • Work: Quicksilver
  • ISBN: 9781491135808
  • Pages: 76


Both a spectacular concerto for saxophone, and a dramatic tone poem on Roman mythology, QUICKSILVER is a 23-minute concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble by one of the sax literature's most commissioned and admired composers. Through worded captions as well as gorgeously expressive tone painting, Movement 1 depicts the birth and childhood pranks of Mercury, Movement 2 shows him escorting souls to the gates of the Underworld, and Movement 3 is a phantasmagoric finale portraying Mercury as messenger amid the conflicts of other mythological figures.